Who should be Player of the Year 2009?

mulligan, 29 August 2009, 2 comments
Categories: Uncategorized

It’s getting time to decide the Player of the Year for 2009. Here are the leading candidates:

1. Tiger Woods – 5 wins, but no majors. (corrected)

2. Y.E. Yang – 2 wins, including PGA Championship victory over Tiger Woods, the only defeat for Woods after leading 54 holes in a major.

3. Stewart Cink and Angel Cabrera and Lucas Glover – 1 major victory apiece.

4. Kenny Perry – 2 victories and 1 playoff loss at Masters.

What say you dear Readers?

Thanks for all the great comments! So far, it’s a unanimous vote for Tiger. We do want to make people aware, though, that the PGA Player of the Year does NOT necessarily have to be the player with the most wins. That’s a fallacy. In 1998, David Duval had 4 wins and was the money leader for the PGA tour. He even placed 2nd at the Masters. Mark O’Meara won only 2 tourneys–both majors–and he was awarded the Player of the Year. Even though Duval doubled O’Meara’s victories, O’Meara won the POY. So the analysis may be altered when majors are in play. Keep posting the comments!


You must be logged in to post a comment.

Leave a Reply:

Name *

Mail (hidden) *


Email: thegolfblog [@] gmail.com

Advertise Here